Witch Hazel: Something Wonderful!

I think Witch Hazel is one of the most wonderful herbs on this planet. Aside from the fact it is a facial toner, reduces swelling, and has anti-inflammatory properties, it has talents that are lesser known.

Before I hit menopause, I suffered from what was commonly (and quietly) known as ‘the floods’. Nothing helped, and the doctors wanted to do a chemical castration with hormones that would leave me with a beard. I nixed that idea, and continued to ruin fabric chairs through overnight pads and Depends.

Then I read a book called, The Menopausal Years by herbalist Susan Weed, and was I ever glad I did. Witch Hazel tea, 3 cups a day, and the floods stopped, just like she said they would. So I consumed a fair amount of Witch Hazel every month, and it worked like a charm, and when menopause finally happened, it was a breeze. Even the hot flashes, kicking legs, and night sweats calmed down. 

Now I find, while doing research for DIY natural cleaning products, that it has anti-static properties for hair and fabrics. You just put Witch Hazel in a spray bottle and spritz your hairbrush, and clothes when they come out of the dryer.

If you want to make a spritz that is also an armoatherapeutic stress-reducing spray, add to it:

  • 1 drop Cypress Essential Oil
  • 2 drops Cinnamon Bark Essential Oil
  • 2 drops Patchouli Essential Oil
  • 4 drops Sweet Orange

Just remember to shake before spraying!

Leave a Reply

